Posted in Food & Eating, Vegan

My Top 5 Meat Alternatives

One of the hardest things to do when changing your eating habits is trying to find things you like, to replace the things you once loved. For me the hardest part was chicken when it came to “meat”. I ate burgers, I’ve had steak one of my favorites when I was younger was “Blood Pudding”. If you’re from the Virgin Islands you know what that is or at least heard of it, I know each island has a different name it may go by. However, chicken has always been my go-to, it took baby steps for me to let it go. It’s been 3 years now since I’ve given all types of  meat in my diet, and honestly, I don’t really miss it.

I had to try different dishes and meals until I found what worked for me. I’ve honestly had more than what my list consists of, but these are the once I choose based on texture, taste and consistency. I didn’t just want to give brands, so I broke it down by actual products used. Keep in mind I haven’t tried every vegan plant-based alternative out there. I try to shop budget friendly, but when it comes to pricing  it may vary by location.

  1. Beyond Meat
    • Beyond Burger
    • Beyond Beef
    • Beyond Sausage
  2. Boca:
    • Chik’n Veggie Nuggets
    • Chik’n Veggie Patties
    • Turk’y Veggie Burgers
  3. Gardein:
    • Mandarin Crispy Chick’n
    • Seven Grain Crispy Tenders
    • Barbecue Chick’n Wings
    • Golden Fishless Filet
  4. Morning Star:
    • Meat Lovers Vegan Patties
    • Original Sausage Patties
    • Veggie Breakfast Sausage Links
    • Popcorn Chick’n
  5. Tofurky:
    • Hikory Smoked Deli Slices
    • Lightly Seasoned Slow Roasted Chick’n

 

Leave a comment